Frustration

As I mentioned, I’ve started studying again. I’m doing an Open University course aimed at ‘Women returners to Science, Engineering and Technology (SET).  So far, the emphasis has been on ‘women returners’ with nothing about SET other than that the examples are women working in these fields.

This is not what I need. I made that very clear at the start of the course, and my tutor reassured me that there would be lots of appropriate stuff for someone who is working, but wants to get back into their field. Not yet there isn’t!

I’m hopeful that things will improve in the second part of the course. Certainly, when I’ve been teaching, we’ve always started at a level appropriate for the students with the least experience, and moved from there. It’s the first time I’ve felt like a bright child in a pedestrian class though – battling to stay focussed because it’s taking a lot of time (which I don’t have) and seems totally pointless.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blether

Leave a Reply

