Jed in the spring

Well, almost.  I went for a walk along the riverside on Sunday afternoon in between the rain showers and took my camera with me for company.

The trees are still bare on the skyline above the Headrig:
bare_tree

but the crocus carpet around a boarded up house on the Bongate is stunning!
crocus_carpet

On my way down the river I spotted a trio of Goosanders (Mergus merganser) which I’ve seen off-and-on this winter.  They are diving ducks and eat fish, so that’s a good sign in terms of the health of the river.

goosander_on_jed

And on the way back I got a lovely view of sunshine on the cauld.
jedburgh_cauld

I also spotted some old winding gear on the bank above the cauld – I’ll need to do some asking around to find out what used to be there.
winding_gear

Today the Jed is bank full, brown, and there isn’t a bird in sight. Sensible creatures. The duck I saw walking up the cauld yesterday would have been half-way down the river if it had tried that trick today! The river must have risen a good 30 cm overnight – unsurprising as it’s one of Scotland’s fastest-rising rivers.

4 Comments

Filed under Blether, Jedburgh

4 responses to “Jed in the spring

  1. Thank you for the beautiful pictures! It does my heart good to see this (we’re still buried in snow up here). :0)

  2. Ruth

    Stunning photos…

  3. Judith

    Thank you so much for the wonderful photos. They are stunning.

  4. Amy

    oh! how I miss Scotland! I think it is the most beautiful place in the world. I found your blog and loved that picture of you at the bar! your blog is nice! I’ll be coming back to visit!

Leave a Reply

