Unexpected consequences

The course I’m studying is supposed to enable me to return to the world of paid employment in Science.  What it’s actually doing is making me think very hard about the position of women in society, and the whole feminist idea.  Like many my age, I suspect, I had thought that feminism had fought and won all the major battles in the 60’s.

I’ve bumped into a blog posting which is making me think a lot – and I would appreciate input from anyone who knows more about it.

6 Comments

Filed under Blether, Politics

6 responses to “Unexpected consequences

  1. Religious extremism is the greatest evil ever – the Ladies need to fight back.
    Sexism is alive and well still – but this turns the clock back centuries- why do the Israeli government allow this ?
    Somebody once made a valid (religious) comment – unless something points back to the Love of God, it isn’t of God.
    Love your blog – found it through Jeans blog.

  2. I abhor fundamentalism in all varieties. I go to an Orthodox synagogue and it couldn’t be more different. I started attending with my husband after we married, and I was very anxious at first. And also pissed about the segregation of the sexes. We sit apart, but that is about it, and some of the men won’t shake hands with an unrelated female, but our president is a woman, and both our rabbis wives have flourishing careers and have kept their maiden names. Our rabbi often speaks of the belief that as long as any one in that country, jew or non-jew, is being oppressed, it will never be at peace.

    Comes down to this, extreme right-wingers can be crazy, no matter what banner they wave.

  3. Dawn

    Hello Lorna,
    I seem to have lost you when you moved hosts, thought I had resubscribed through Bloglines, but obviously not.
    Catching up now: I thought you might be interested in this personal look at Science and women (see March 7 post) http://badmomgoodmom.blogspot.com/

    I have been reading at http://blog.iblamethepatriarchy.com/ for a while now. It can be a bit extreme and certainly quirky, but still informative. I have no illusions left. I was lead there from http://goknitinyourhat.blogspot.com/index.html , so you see, knitblogs can be mind expanding 😉

    From this point of view, it is quite interesting in The Netherlands. One tends to think of them as an “advanced” society, subjective term, I know. But since they were not involved in WWI they did not have the same impetus of getting women out working that they had in the UK. The number of stay at home mums and part timers is very high in comparison to other European countries. But on top of that, they have a very high average age for first birth as women put off having the children until their career is established.

    Anyway, I hope your course keeps you thinking, whether in the expected direction or not.

    Good luck,
    Dawn

  4. it’s good you’re asking questions at this stage rather than later. one probem of american feminism (perhaps similar in other countries) is that many women doing the work for change in the early years have found personal solutions to discrimination against women. from their experiences–or maybe they are tired–they generalize.

    recently young working mothers such as the ones who’ve started http://www.momsrising.org/ have found themselves looking at how little has changed to make their various roles manageable.

    i was interested in Dawn’s comment about the netherlands–and surprised. we need to know more about women’s lives outside the u.s. seems that being big has led to being hermetically sealed!

  5. Dawn

    I followed Naomi’s link and was impressed by the New York Times article “Stop the Presses, Boys! Women Claim Space on Op-Ed Pages” that was linked.

    I don’t think my Dutch is good enough to write in the newspapers here, but what I found important was the idea that women don’t see themselves as experts, and don’t recognise their own skills. While men very rarely see the need to apologise for or underestimate themselves.

  6. Elizabeth A. Buckley

    Sorry – but as soon as I opened this site and saw a cutsie blond, white and probably blue-eyed icon with a gun, I was turned off and enraged and couldn’t possibly read whatever she wanted me to read.
    Most blond, white and blue/hazel/green eyed women are liberated far beyond their brown/black haired, brown/black/olive/yellow skinned sisters.

Leave a Reply

